Minister and department

The Minister of Health, the Department of Health, and Alberta Health Services are key elements in Alberta's health care system. The minister is aided by department staff members, various advisory bodies and directed by government as a whole in setting health care policy. The Department of Health implements and ensures compliance with government policy.

The minister, associate ministers, and department also work with other ministers and related health departments across the country on national policies and initiatives. The Minister of Health is the Honorable Fred Horne.

More ministry information