Tobacco Reduction Act

On January 1, 2008, the Tobacco Reduction Act became law. The Tobacco Reduction Act:
  • Prohibits smoking in all public places and workplaces;
  • Bans retail displays, advertising and promotion of tobacco products; and
  • Prohibits the sale of tobacco products from all health-care facilities, public post-secondary campuses, pharmacies and stores that contain a pharmacy.

Under this Act, tobacco products include any products composed in whole or in part of tobacco, including tobacco leaves or any extract of tobacco leaves. This includes:

  • Cigarettes
  • Cigars
  • Cigarillos
  • Pipe tobacco 
  • Specialty tobacco products like chewing tobacco, snus and snuff

More information

Prevention of Youth Tobacco Use Act

The Prevention of Youth Tobacco Use Act, proclaimed in 2003, promotes the health of young persons by restricting their access to tobacco products.

  • Under the Act, young persons under the age of 18 in possession of or consuming tobacco products can be found guilty of an offence and liable of a fine of not more than $100.