Alberta Health Services

Alberta Health Services (AHS) is the provincial health authority responsible for overseeing the planning and delivery of health supports and services to more than 3.7 million adults and children living in the province of Alberta. 

Health services are delivered through health professionals in fee-for-service practice and others who provide equipment, supplies and services. Some public health services may also be provided by private health care clinics.

The AHS Board governs all health services in the province, working in partnership with Alberta Health to ensure all Albertans have equal access to health services across the province. The Board reports directly to the Minister of Health and Wellness.

AHS was established on May 15, 2008, and became fully operational on April 1, 2009, incorporating the former 9 regional health authorities, the Alberta Mental Health Board, the Alberta Cancer Board and the Alberta Alcohol and Drug Abuse Commission (AADAC). Since 2009, there are 5 health zones:

  1. North Zone (Zone 5),
  2. Edmonton Zone (Zone 4),
  3. Central Zone (Zone 3),
  4. Calgary Zone (Zone 2),
  5. South Zone (Zone 1).